Watermelon Salad ft. Quinoa, Mint, & Feta

It is officially summer and I know that because this past week it has been hotter than a goat’s butt in a pepper patch. But, I am not complaining! After the longest winter I’ve ever lived, I will take the heat any day. I remember a hot day when I was younger and hearing my dad say its so hot lets just have salad for dinner. At the time I did not see the logic in that thought, cause yeah it’s hot but I am still hungry for a meal?! Now I get it though, when it is hot the LAST thing I want to do is cook a meal, especially when it means  standing by a burning oven or stove. So here I am now thinking, it’s really hot lets just have a salad.

What goes in:
Watermelon, cubed
Quinoa
Mint, chopped
Red Onion, chopped
Feta
Balsamic Vinaigrette

What you do:
I know, I know, I said it is hot and I don’t want to cook in front of the stove but you can walk away while it is cooking and without the quinoa you are probably still going to be hungry. SO, first cook your quinoa. One cup quinoa to two cups water. While it is cooking chop your mint, watermelon, and red onion. When the quinoa is finished, so is this meal! Pile everything onto a plate and drizzle with some balsamic vinaigrette! You can eat it with the quinoa hot or cold, I think it tasted good either way but I’ll be eating it cold this week.

Leave a Reply

