Black Bean Rotini ft. Salmon & Kale

This was my first time trying Black Bean Rotini & my first time making salmon. Turns out, both are V EASY to make and delicious. Also, this Black Bean Rotini has 14 grams of protein and 15 grams of fiber, tastes like black beans, but feels like pasta which is a win on all levels in my opinion. (I bought everything from Trader Joe’s, but imagine it can all be found other places as well)

What goes in:

1 Bag of Black Bean Rotini

1/2 Bag of Chopped Kale

1 Jar Basil Pesto

Olive Oil

Salmon

Lemon Slices

Spices: Lemon Pepper, Paprika, Basil, Oregano, Red Pepper Flakes

What you do:

I used a frozen salmon, so I started by defrosting it in a big bowl of water. Once it is ready, preheat the oven to 425. Line a baking sheet with foil and put the salmon on top, skin side facing down. Next, drizzle a little olive oil over the salmon and add the spices and put some thin lemon slices over the top (amount and spacing up to you, I used 3 slices spread out over the salmon). Salmon goes in the oven for 15 minutes!

While the salmon is cooking I started cooking the Black Bean Rotini in a pot of boiling water as you would normally cook pasta. Then, I drizzled a little olive oil in a skillet on medium heat and put half a bag of kale in and then put a lid on. Mix the kale every few minutes so it doesn’t burn. The kale will turn a vibrant green and that is how I know it was cooked to my preference. I would also recommend tasting it to see if it is as soft or crunchy as you like. When the Rotini is done cooking, drain it and mix it in with the kale and pesto. Serve with a slice of salmon on top and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

